Content on this page requires a newer version of Adobe Flash Player.

Get Adobe Flash player

The William Stansell Awards 


The next William Stansell Awards will be held in September 2018.  Information and application forms will be sent out in the new year.  Meanwhile please contact the Secretary Jane at  We welcome entries. 




Three Somerset building projects have won prestigious awards for the exceptionally high standard of their design and craftsmanship.

The winners of the William Stansell/Somerset Building Preservation Trust Awards were announced at a special ceremony at Hauser & Wirth Art Gallery, Bruton on Thursday September 8.

Russell Lillford, chairman of the Somerset Building Preservation Trust said: “We are delighted at the growing success of these building awards which aim to highlight the positive contribution that well designed and conserved buildings make to their surroundings.

“Eleven entries were received this year, all of a very high standard.  I congratulate to all those who have won awards or have been commended – theirs is a considerable achievement.”

The panel of judges headed by Jeremy Gould, formerly professor of architecture at Plymouth University, looked at projects involving the alteration, conversion or repair of historic buildings, carried out in the county in the past two years.

The Awards are named after the late William Stansell, founder and Chairman of the Stansell Group.  His great love was the conservation and repair of historic buildings.  The main sponsor is Tauntfield Ltd (the Stansell family company) and the Awards were presented by James Holyday, Director of Summerfield Developments (SW) Ltd.


Halswell Rotunda, Halswell House, Goathurst, Nr Bridgwater

Owner: Edward Strachan

Designer: Claire Fear, Architectural Thread Ltd, Wellington

Contractor: Corbel Conservation, Taunton


Barford Park, Spaxton, Nr Bridgwater - Commendation

Owner: Donald and Bee Rice

Designer: Ptolemy Dean Architects Ltd, London

M&E Consultant: CBG Consulting Engineers, Oxford

Structural Engineer: Andrew Waring Associates, Romsey

Ecologist: James Johnston Ecology, Coleford

Contractor: Ken Biggs Contractors, High Littleton


The Summerhouse (Billiard Room), Taunton - Commendation

Owner: Richard Moore

Designer/Project Manager: Richard Moore

Contractor: Richard Moore

Specialist contractors: Clinton Alexander, Wellington (glazing and leadwork); Tom Leeming of Abbey Conservation, Churchinford (limeworks conservation); Tank Adams of M Adams Historic Joinery Conservation, Wellington (joinery)


Bathealton Court, Bathealton - Commendation

Owner: Mr & Mrs D Hugh-Smith

Designer: Jonathan Rhind Architects, Taunton

Contractor: Westcott Construction Ltd, South Molton

Specialist contractors: Sean Wheatley Ltd, Combe Martin (lime plaster, internal plasterwork); Hugh Harrison, South Molton (timber conservator)


Methodist Rooms, Ilminster

Owner: Mr Robert Doak

Designer: Chris Baranowski

Contractor: Mr Robert Doak


St Cuthbert, Wells

Owner: The PCC of St Cuthbert, Wells

Designer: Benjamin and Beauchamp Architects Ltd, Wedmore

Contractor: Ellis & Co (Restoration and Building Ltd)


Hauser & Wirth Somerset, Bruton - Award

Owner: Hauser & Wirth Somerset

Designer: Luis Leplace, Paris; Benjamin + Beauchamp Architects Ltd, Wedmore (conservation architects)

Project Management and Quantity Surveyors: Jackson Coles LLP, London

Contractor: Emery Bros Ltd, Bath


Shanks House, Cucklington - Award

Owner: Sophie and Roland Rudd

Designer: Ptolemy Dean Architects Ltd, London

Landscape Designer: Tom Stuart-Smith Ltd, London

M&E Consultant: Blair Thompson Consulting Engineers, London

Structural Engineer: Elliot Wood Partnership, London

Contractor: R Moulding & Co (Salisbury) Ltd, Salisbury


Church of St Peter and St Paul, Maperton - Award

Owner: The PCC of St Peter and St Paul, Maperton

Designer: Philip Hughes Associates, Wincanton

Contractor: T A Green Builder, Wincanton

Specialist contractors: Salisbury Cathedral Stained Glass, Salisbury (glazing repairs and cleaning); Humphries & Jones, Crewkerne (light fitting refurbishment)


Poulett Monument, Church of St George, Hinton St George - Commendation

Owner: The PCC of St George, Hinton St George

Designer: Philip Hughes Associates, Wincanton

Contractor/specialist conservator: Humphries & Jones, Crewkerne


Church of St John the Baptist, Yeovil - Commendation

Owner: The PCC of St John the Baptist, Yeovil

Designer: Benjamin + Beauchamp Architects Ltd, Wedmore

Contractor: Sally Strachey Historic Conservation, Lower Godney, Wells


The Somerset Building Preservation Trust would like to thank Summerfield Developments Ltd, The South West Heritage Trust, Mendip District Council and South Somerset District Council for sponsoring this year’s awards, and Hauser Wirth Somerset for hosting this year’s award event.



Repair to medieval house - Court Farm, Preywater Road, Wookey.
Entrant and architects: Harrison Brooks, 15 Portway  Frome 
Tel:  01373 474398

Tower restoration - St Michael's Church, North Lane, Othery.
Enrant and architects: Beech Tyldesley, Heritage Courtyard, 17D Sadler Street,  Wells.
Tel: 01749 673565

New build in a conservation area - Ferrum House, 23 Quaperlake Street, Bruton   
Entrant: Andrew Pennock, Ferrum House
Tel : 0774 0630134

Repair and renovation - Durslade Farmhouse, Dropping Lane, Bruton 
Entrant: Hauser and Wirth Somerset, 23 Savile Row, London 
Tel: 01749 814068


Housing scheme incorporating part of the old building - former Wells and District Hospital (The Mews) 1-15, The Mews, Bath Road,  Wells.
Entrant and architects: David Brain Partnership, Ralph Allen's Townhouse,  2 Church Street, Bath.   Tel: 01225 445055

House restoration - 41 Swain Street, Watchet. 
Enrant and architects: Paul Upton, Frian Barton,  Over Stowey,  Bridgwater. 
Tel :  01278 734630

Refurbishment of Priory Barn - Somerset Cricket Museum,  7 Priory Ave, Taunton.
Entrant and architects: Stone and Partners, Saxum House, 4 Billetfield, Taunton
Tel:  01823 337211

Creation of small chapel inside church - St Peter and All Hallows Church, West Huntspill, Bridgwater. 
Entrant and architects:  Annie Evans, Sowdens  Fiddington  Bridgwater 
Tel: 01278 732339